Georgia Boy - Best Alternative Country Song Finalist in 18th Annual Independent Music Awards

April 14, 2020 — Teen singer-songwriter Aspen Jacobsen’s song "Georgia Boy" is one of five finalists in the Independent Music Awards' Alternative Country Best Song Category.  A 15-year-old from Commerce Township, Michigan, Aspen is a singer and multi-instrumentalist whose music is rooted in Americana, Country, and Folk-Pop. “Georgia Boy” is about a personal experience; “It seemed like a cliché encounter between a teen boy and girl which initially made me resistant to writing this song,” explains Aspen. Although it may sound stereotypical, everything in this song is a true account of teenage courtship. In the song Aspen sings: "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to hurt you. I'm sorry, I did the best a stupid girl like me could do."

IMA finalists were culled from thousands of submissions from 73 countries by the Independent Music Awards (IMA). Now in its 18th year, the IMA honors the exceptional work of indie creatives from around the globe and honors artistry and daring rather than streams and social reach. It celebrates everything that makes indie music authentic and unique.


The winning projects will be selected by influential judging panels including: Tom Waits & Kathleen Brennan, Robert Smith, Ziggy Marley, KT Tunstall, Dee Snider, Drowning Pool, Roberta Flack, Jaci Velasquez, Coolio, Joshua Bell, Beth Gibbons, Joe Satriani and nearly 100 more creatives, top recording artists and industry influencers determining this year’s winners.

Featuring gorgeous verse and lush instrumentation, “Georgia Boy” is from Aspen’s latest album ‘Love Each Other Right.’ Detroit native and Nashville based, Dominic Davis produced the album. Davis is the long-time bassist for Jack White and has worked with many music greats, from Beyoncé to Willie Nelson to Adele. The album was recorded last August at Willis Sound. [Aspen] is "a very mature performer and writer, which is rare at any age", explains Jim Roll, Head Engineer at Willis Sound. Musicians on the album include Aspen Jacobsen (vocals, guitar) Michael Shimmin (percussion), Brad Phillips (guitar/mandolin/violin), Dominic Davis (Bass), Bruce Ling (mandolin), Rachael Davis (backing vocals) and Mike Lynch (keyboard).